Repurposed brass lamp- Reveal

Remember that old brass lamp I found at an antique store? Here is the before photo in case you forgot.

image

I purchased it for a mere $8! It was hidden amongst other worn out fixtures. So I started out by cleaning the brass lamp with a cloth. I wanted to give the lamp a worn iron look to it, something you would find in an old farmhouse. Next I used chalk paint in black. The nice thing about chalk paint is that you don’t have to worry about sealing or sanding prior to application.I applied it with a paint brush and a rag. I let that dry, then I applied the creme wax over the lamp to give it a worn out or rustic look. I opted not to apply a lamp shade, and plan to replace the working light bulb with a vintage filament bulb. I think by leaving the lamp shade off it creates a minimalist look to it. It turned out to be quite a unique and inexpensive piece don’t you think? Take a look-

image

Thank you for following me. Next, I am looking at a clever way to display photos and artwork made by my little ones….

 

Leave a Reply

